Nihal Nelson releases ‘Ransilu’


nihal.jpg (5594 bytes)
Nihal Nelson

by Kalinga Weerakkody
Veteran baila singer Nihal Nelson released his 110th cassette named "Nihal 110 Dot Com." December 26 last year under the label of ‘Ransilu’.

Of the 12 songs Nihal had written six songs while creating melodies for all the songs, including "Dot Com".

The six songs are "Dot Com", "Adara Kiriliye", "Saloman Joe", "Upan Gaman", "Amma Nathi Kala", "Leelie Kamalie". The lyrics are for "Panathi Patha" by Lahiru Sandavinna, "Kawadath Somibara Gee" and "Thawamath Edath Adath" by Hemasiri Halpita. "Adi Adi Yana Sarungal" by Rohana Hettiarachchi, "Doctor Dath" by D. B. Elangakoon, "We Are Men" by Premalal Weerasinghe.

Music is provided by Neil Warnakulasooriya with the "Sun Flowers" group and songs recorded at "Sunflower Studios" at Mahawewa, Chilaw. Nihal who hails from Moratuwa is among the first vocalists to sing for cassettes in 1978 namely "Gune Ayyage Kamare" produced under the label of "Tharanga" by Wijaya Ramanayake who introduced cassette production to the Sri Lankan music scene. He is also the first Sri Lankan singer to release a Compact Disc in the early 90’s.

His first was "Lassanata Pipunu Wanamal" recorded for EP (Extended Play) record in March 31, 1963.

Nihal is due to tour in Singapore in April and Italy in May.