Ferial in a three-cornered contest in Digamadulla

From Mohamed Rasshid in Digamadulla
The PA, UNP and SLMC filed their nominations to contest the forthcoming general election in the Digamadulla district, at the Ampara kachcheri yesterday morning.

In the district, the three parties are led by Ferial Ashraff (PA), P. Dayaratne (UNP) and A. L. M. Edaullah.

As the UNP Muslim candidates in the district were left out as a result of the electoral ‘understanding’ the party reached with the SLMC, UNP stalwarts under the leadership of Naushard Majeed filed nominations to contest as independent candidates.

UNP district leader P. Dayaratne who made every attempt to persuade SLMC leader Rauf Hakeem to accommodate UNP Muslim candidates on the SLMC list, yesterday expressed disappointment.

‘We tried hard’, he said.

Other than the UNP, PA, SLMC, the TULF, JVP, EPDP, Sihala Urumaya, USA and 14 Independent Groups are contesting the poll from the Digamadulla district.

The following were the nominations filed yesterday:

PA: Ferial Ashraff, H. M. Weerasinghe, Wimalaweera Dissanayake, D. A. K. Devarapperuma, S. K. De Silva, G. H. S. Silva, U. L. M. Mohideen, A. R. Kulanthai Marikkar, A. C. A. Badurudeen, K. Vinayagamoorthy.

UNP: P. Dayaratne, Chandradasa Gallappathy, A. W. M. A. Bakmeewewa, T. Muthukhrishnan, A. D. T. S. Indrasekara, G. A. Dharmasena, G. V. S. Chandralal, D. C. D. Abeygunawardane, A. Ananda, L. W. Gunasekara.

S.L.M.C.: A. L. M. Edaullah, M. T. Hasan Ali, M. Abdul Azeez, M. I. Anver Ismail, S. Nijamudeen, M. H. M. Subair, H. M. Mohamed Hariz, A. R. Sulaimalebbe, M. Z. Ariff, Farook Majeed.