Naveed, Inzamam score tons in double century stand
Pakistan win by 7 wkts

SHARJAH, United Arab Emirates, Nov 2 (Reuters) - Centuries from Naveed Latif and Inzamam-ul-Haq helped Pakistan to a seven-wicket victory over Sri Lanka in the Sharjah Champions Trophy on Friday.

The pair’s third-wicket stand of 219 saw Pakistan overhaul the Sri Lankan’s 272 for nine in 49.2 overs with Naveed contributing 113 and Inzamam 118 not out to their 276 for three.

A packed house of 20,000 also saw Sri Lanka skipper Sanath Jayasuirya achieve a personal milestone by scoring his 7,000th run in one-day cricket.

The result leaves both teams with three victories and one defeat in the tournament, which also featured Zimbabwe, and they will meet in Sunday’s final.

The early losses of Pakistan opener Shahid Afridi and Yousuf Youhana, both for 11, brought Naveed — playing in only his second match — and Inzamam to the crease and they turned the match with an elegant exhibition of stroke-play.

The 23-year-old Naveed grew in confidence in the company of Inzamam, who paced his innings by exploiting yawning gaps in the field.

Naveed competed his 130-ball century in the 43rd over with eight fours and one six, taking a single off Kumar Dharmasena. Two overs later it was the turn of Inzamam, who reached the mark with a single off Prabath Nissanka. His knock included 10 fours and two sixes.

Earlier, Jayasuriya — wrongly credited with achieving the feat on Wednesday because of a statistical error — became the third Sri Lankan after Aravinda de Silva (8,430) and Arjuna Ranatunga (7,456) to reach the 7,000-run milestone.

Sri Lanka built their innings around fluent half-centuries from Avishka Gunawardene and Mahela Jayawardene.

Their innings was given a perfect start by openers Jayasuriya and Gunawardene, who put on 95 runs before the skipper fell to Afridi for 36.

Gunawardene followed Jayasuriya in 23rd over, miscuing his intended hook to Inzamam for 57.

Jayawardene took over and frustrated the Pakistan attack which missed Wasim Akram, who was rested ahead of the final.

Pakistan fought back with a double-blow by Waqar Younis in the 43rd over when he took the wickets of Russel Arnold and Kumar Sangakkara.

Jayawardene was finally removed when he hit a tired-looking pull shot off Shoaib Akhtar to Afridi for 84.


Sri Lanka

S.Jayasuriya c Shoaib Akhtar b Shahid Afridi 36

A.Gunawardene c Inzamam-ul-Haq b Shaoib Akhtar 57

M.Atapattu c Rashid Latif b Abdur Razzaq 24

M.Jayawardene c Shahid Afridi b Shoaib Akhtar 84

R.Arnold lbw b Waqar Younis 19

K.Sangakkara b Waqar Younis 0

R.Kaluwitharana lbw b Azhar Mahmood 7

C.Vaas c Rashid Latif b Shoaib Akhtar 10

H.Dharmasena run out 3

C.Buddika not out 1

Extras (lb-12 w-16 nb-3) 31

Total (for nine wickets, 50 overs) 272

Fall of wickets: 1-95 2-103 3-158 4-224 5-224 6-250 7-258, 8-271 9-272

Did not bat: R.Nissanka

Bowling: Waqar Younis 10-0-51-2 (w-2), Shoaib Akhtar

10-0-45-3 (w-4 nb-2), Abdur Razzaq 8-0-53-1 (nb-1), Azhar Mahmood 9-0-51-1 (w-1), Shahid Afridi 10-0-46-1 (w-9), Shoaib Malik 3-0-14-0


Shahid Afridi c Sangakkara b Vaas 11

Naveed Latif c Nissanka b Dharmasena 113

Yousuf Youhana b Buddika 11

Inzamam-ul-Haq not out 118

Younis Khan not out 7

Extras (lb-4 w-7 nb-5) 16

Total (for three wickets, 49.2 overs) 276

Fall of wickets: 1-17 2-41 3-260

Did not bat: Abdur Razzaq, Azhar Mahmood, Rashid Latif, Shoaib Malik, Waqar Younis, Shoaib Akhtar

Bowling: Vaas 10-1-40-1, Nissanka 9-0-71-0 (w-5), Buddika 10-1-35-1 (nb-5), Arnold 9-0-57-0 (w-1), Dharmasena 9-0-44-1, Jayasuriya 2.2-0-25-0 (w-1)

Result: Pakistan won by seven wickets