UNF govt. cabinet sworn-in

The first cabinet of the UNP lead United National Front government was expected to take oaths before President Chandrika Kumaratunga late afternoon yesterday.

The Cabinet was to consist of 25 Ministers including the Prime Minister, another 28 Project Ministers were appointed who are not of cabinet rank but who would act independently with eight Deputy Ministers. The Ministers were not sworn in by the time this edition went to press.

The coveted Finance Minister portfolio was to go to President’s Counsel K. N. Choksy. The Defence Ministry was given to PC Tilak Marapana. Earlier, there were reports that President Chandrika Kumaratunga would seek to keep Defence portfolio under her. Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe had retained the Ministry of Policy Development and Implementation.

The rest of the Cabinet is as follows:


Ranil Wickremesinghe — Policy Development & Implementation

Karu Jayasuriya — Power & Energy

Gamini Atukorale — Transport, Highways & Aviation

Alick Aluvihare — Home Affairs, Provincial Councils and Local Government

M. H. Mohamed — Western Region Development

W. J. M. Lokubandara — (a) Justice, Law Reform & National Integration

(b) Buddha Sasana

Gamini Jayawickreme Perera — Irrigation and Water Management

K. N. Choksy — Finance

Tyronne Fernando — Foreign

P. Dayaratne — Health, Nutrition & Welfare

John Amaratunga — Interior

Gamini Lokuge — Tourism

S. B. Dissanayake — (a) Agriculture & Livestock

(b) Samurdhi

G. L. Peiris — (a) Enterprise Development, Industrial Policy and Investment Promotion

(b) Constitutional Affairs

Rauf Hakeem — (a) Port Development & Shipping

(b) Eastern Development & Muslim Religious Affairs

Amara Piyaseeli Ratnayake — Women’s Affairs

Ananda Kularatne — Southern Regional Development

Rukman Senanayake — Environment and Natural Resources

A. Thondaman — Housing & Plantation Infrastructure

Mahinda Wijesekera — Fisheries & Ocean Resources

Lakshman Kiriella - Plantation Industries

Tissa Attanayake — Central Region Development

Tilak Marapana — Defence

Bandula Gunawardene — Rural Economy

A. R. M. A. Cader — Co-operatives

Project Ministers

Karunasena Kodituwakku — Human Resource Development, Education & Cultural Affairs

Mahinda Samarasinghe — Employment & Labour

Lakshman Seneviratne — Water Management

Piyasoma Upali — State Transport

Imtiaz Bakeer Markar — Mass Communication

A. H. M. Azwer — Parliamentary Affairs

Ravi Samaraweera — Social Welfare

P. Harrison — Housing Development

Vajira Abeywardene — Public Administration, Management and Reforms

Ravi Karunanayake — Commerce and Consumer Affairs

Lal Gamage — Assisting Foreign Affairs

Earl Gunasekera — Home Affairs, Local Government & Provincial Councils

P. Chandrasekeran — Estate Infrastructure

R. A. D. Sirisena — Samurdhi

Suranimala Rajapakse — School Education

Jayalath Jayawardene — Rehabilitation, Resettlement & Refugees

Kabeer Hashim — Tertiary Education, Training

H. G. P. Nelson — Irrigation

Rajitha Senaratne — Land

Jayathilake Podinilame — NW Regional Development

Johnston Fernando — Youth Affairs & Sports

Rohitha Bogollagama — Industries

Susantha Punchinilame — Small Holder Development

M. Maharoof — Urban Public Utilities

A. L. M. Athaulla — Highways

Noordeen Mashoor — Minister Assisting Vanni Rehabilitation

T. Maheswaran — Hindu Affairs

Milinda Moragoda — Economic Reform, Science & Technology

Deputy Ministers

Bandula Gunawardena — Finance

Sajith Premadasa — Health

Naveen Dissanayake — Plantations Industries

Indika Bandaranayake — Environment & Natural Resources

Sagala Ratnayake — Power & Energy

Muthu Sivalingam — Agriculture & Livestock

Basheer Segudawood — Housing

Mohideen Abdul Cader — Fisheries