Rajans — a driving force in school cricket

Hafiz Marikar in Kandy
A school which has reached great heights in the field of cricket is Dharmaraja College, Kandy.

Dharmaraja is one of the oldest cricket playing schools in the Island, and has produced several cricketers who have brought honour and fame to their alma mater. The most famous of them is T. B. Kehelgamuwa who was known as the Kandyan Express the late Sanny Yatawara another pace bowler, who once bowled out Sir Garfield Sobers for a duck, Arthur Alwis, a stylish batsman the first centurion of the Rajans, T. B. Talwatte, Jayasundara brothers, Ananda, Daya, Upananda, Shanthi Mendis, David Karunarthne T. B. Marasinghe, Tilina Tenakoon, Ravi Rajapakse, Priyantha Talwatte, Priyantha Weeragoda, Indragith Bandaranayake, Jeweewan Gajaweera, Alwis brothers, D de T and D de C, Harlod Ranasinghe, Bertie Nilagoda, D. D. Somasri, D. D. Hemapala, Gamini Gunatilake, Mahinda Petiyagoda, A. S. Ekanayake, are some of the outstanding sportsmen the school has produced.

Once again the Rajans are coached by one of their old boys, Priyantha Weeragoda, a classy spinner, who played for Kandy CC and Navy SC. He is doing his best as a coach and is happy with the performance of the team, in the matches played.

This season the Rajans are led by Haresh Ratnayake who is a stylish batsman and an excellent fielder. He represented the Sri Lanka under 17 side, in the Asia Cup competition in Pakistan. He is expected to give off his best as captain, and should get the best off his players.

Nirmal Wickremarathne, a Sri Lanka under 19 poolist, is the Vice Captain, he is a superb medium pace bowler and a steady middle order batsman, he is sure to give off his best both with the bat and the ball this season.

Rajans are lucky to have their last years skipper Anuradha Jayasundara in the side. He is a fine allrounder who should give a good display in all departments of the game.

The others in the side are Mudith Wijekoon, Haresh Ratnayake, Mahes Weerasuriya Surath Gunasinghe, Kelum Ariyadasa and Chamara Kapugedera all who are good at batting.

The bowling machines in the side are, Nirmal Wickremaratne Anuradha Jayasundara Erandara Abeyasinghe, Gayan Wijetilake, Kasun Weeraratne are the pace bowlers, The spinners in the side are Manjula Herath Mahesh Weerasuriya, Asiri Dolapihilla, Gayan Nadunge and Asanga Samarakoon from whom much is expected this season.

Kelum Ariyadasa is the stumper of the side, and Chamara Kapugedera is also good in the job.

Sarath Mataraarachchie is the prefect of games and Major Buvaneka Bandara is the Cricket Coordinator.