LTTE pressure on TNA MPs to resign?

by Franklin R. Satyapalan
It is reliably learnt that the LTTE at yesterday’s talks with a delegation of the Tamil National Alliance (TNA) in Kilinochchi has asked nine TNA parliamentarians to resign from Parliament to make way for LTTE nominees.

LTTE’s head of political wing S. P. Thamilchelvam yesterday briefed the leaders of constituent parties in the TNA on the responsibilities of the 15 TNA members in Parliament which they should shoulder till the proposed June peace talks with the United National Front government in Thailand, informed Tamil political sources said yesterday.

At the invitation of Thamilchelvam, TULF General Secretary R. Sampanthan led a four-member delegation of TNA parliamentarians for a meeting at LTTE’s political hideout in Kilinochchi yesterday.

The LTTE political leader expressed the organisation’s disappointment over the attitude of TNA MPs in parliament and pointed out shortcomings in their representation of the Tamil people.

Thamilchelvam at the outset inquired from the TNA delegation on the present political situation in the south and the protests of the People’s Alliance, Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna, Maha Sangha and the Sihala Urumaya over the MoU between the UNF government and the LTTE.

Thamilchelvam also stated that the 15 TNA MPs should coordinate a plan of action in Parliament to obtain the repeal of the Prevention of Terrorism Act, release of Tamil political detainees languishing in jail without trial or charges for long periods, the implementation of the MoU in full and the lifting of the ban on the LTTE before peace talks in June.

This is the second meeting between the LTTE and the TNA MPs since the signing of the MoU between the UNF government and the LTTE.

Thamilchelvam wanted the TNA MPs to keep the LTTE leaders in the Wanni briefed on all political and other developments in the south without delay in the future.

The TNA delegation led by TULF General Secretary R. Sampanthan comprised Tamil Eelam Liberation Organisation leader and parliamentarian Selvam Addaikalanathan, Eelam People’s Revolutionary Liberation Front (Suresh Premachandran wing) parliamentarian Sivashakthi Anandan and All Ceylon Tamil Congress leader and parliamentarian Appathurai Vinayagamoorthy. On the LTTE side, deputy political head Vishu was also associated with Thamilchelvam.