Kandy Wace Park Hill climb today

The Kandy "Wace Park" speed hill climb will take place today at the Royal Place Park Drive after a lapse of two years. So the drivers and riders who have entered for this event should provide the thrills and spills for the large crowd present.

The event is organized by the Kandy Motor Sports Club headed by veteran motor racer Maurice Perera, and is well backed by another veteran Ananda Krishnaratne.

The Wace Park Speed Hill Climb has proved over the years as a very popular hill climb amongst the competitors and every motor racing fan hopes that all drivers and riders should provide a fine show.

The course length is 900 metres with three right handed and two left handed corners and the width of the road is a minimum of 4 metres and forms a climb from start to finish. The fastest competitor in each class will be adjudged the winner of his class and prizes and certificates will be awarded.

The record at this track is held by Nishan Weerasuriya who timed 48.93 seconds. The class record for formula cars is held by Rohan de Silva and for motor-cycles by Shanika Ambrose.

The organizers media briefing was attended by a select crowd.
(Hafiz Marikar in Kandy)