Reserve, STF, Police’s inter-division soccer champs

by T. Rajah, our Badulla Sports Corr.
Sri Lanka Police Reserve and Special Task Force clinched the "T. W. Wright" and "Ferguson" Trophies respectively by defeating Ampara and Jaffna in the finals of the All-Island Sri Lanka Police inter-division Football tournament concluded at the Vincent Dias Stadium in Badulla.

22 Police divisions participated in the tournament which was conducted over four days and organised by the Uva Region DIG, S. K. Shankar, Senior SSP H. N. B. Ambanwela and IP Jayantha Silva on behalf of the SL Police Sports Club.

Senior DIG and FFSL President Gamini Randeni was the chief guest and distributed the awards.

In the "T. Y. Wright" trophy finals Sri Lanka Police Reserve beat Ampara 2-1. S. M. Saman Kumara and Kapila Shilpathipathy scored for the winners while D. P. Upul Shantha scored for the losers. Ajith Priyankara of SLPR was named the best player of the finals. Anura de Silva officiated.

In the "Ferguson" trophy final STF beat Jaffna by 3-0. K. G. R. P. Jayaratne, Rafi Mowlana and D. C. Gunathilaka scored for the winners. R. T. Alphonso refereed. Gunathilaka was also awarded the best player’s trophy.