Thilini in upset win over Chandrika
by Dhammika Ratnaweera

Thilini Jayasinghe created a major upset at the 52nd National Badminton Championship when she heat top seed and defending champion Chandrika de Silva in the finals played at the Royal College Sport Complex on Friday.

Infact, Chandrika de Silva, most senior womenís shuttler was intent on creating a new record by winning eight titles in a row. But Jayasinghe, a product of Mahamaya BMV, Kandy had other ideas and stunned Chandrika to win in straight sets 11-9, 11-5 and gain the major title.

Meanwhile, Niluka Karunaratne once again proved his class defeating national Number Two, U. D. R. P. Kumara in the Menís Open Final. Karunaratne beat him in two straight sets 15-4, 15-12 to win the title. This is his fourth win in a row.

Earlier Chandrika de Silva won the two other finals ó mixed doubles and womenís double titles.

Thushara Edirisinghe and Duminda Jayakody defeated the two Karunaratne brothers ó Niluka and Diluka in the menís open double finals 15-6, 10-15, 15-11.

The tournament is sponsored by the National Savings Bank, for the first time and went live on ITN yesterday.


Powered By -

Produced by Upali Group of Companies