St. Anthony’s display grit and determination

St. Anthony’s College Kandy is a school which has reached great heights in the field of cricket, but this year with a freshly- laden side and only three seniors, they did extremely well and gave strong sides they met a challenging time. Even if then did not win a single game, they played good cricket under the leadership of Pramod Fernando.

St. Anthony’s is a school which has produced several cricketers who have represented Sri Lanka with distinction. Among them is the great Jack Anderson, who held the record till recently for the highest individual score in school cricket, namely, 291 against St. Thomas. A. C. M. Laffir, who led the school in their Centenary year, was an elelgant cricketer. He played some graceful innings for St. Anthony’s and All Ceylon. He held the record for the highest individual score in Division I cricket when he made 255 not out for Nomads SC against the Colombo University. Another is the world famous spinne, Muttiah Muralitharan, who has brought fame to himself, for his school, for the city of kandy and the country.

This year the mantle of leadership fell on the shoulders of Pramod Fernando, who is one of the finest all-rounder in school cricket. He is not only a fine attacking batsman, but also a good bowler capturing over 35 wickets and scoring over 450 runs. With only three senior guys in the side, he did his part well to hold schools like St. Josephs, Trinity, St. Peter’s and Ananda at bay.

Sameera Weerabahu, the vice captain, also played a major role this season scoring a fine half century in the Big Match to take the newly presented "John Halangoda" Trophy.

Shameer Munas is another talented all-rounder. He made over 500 runs and took over 30 wickets. Selwyn Jamion, too is another fine all-rounder, who has rescued the side on many occasions.

Peter Samarakoon, the medium paceie, who comes in as the first change bowler, was good when ever he bowled. Harsha Medagoda, a technically correct strokemaker, Saheer Reyal, Gimhana Dissanayake, the stumper of the side, Shan Pallihakkara, Adil Reyal, Milinda Perera, Dinuka Wijewardene - allgave of their best. There were also Hasantha Niyangoda, Jerome Sigertz, Varuna de Silva, Roshan Mahesh, Shamil Uduwaka, Suneth Hettiarachchi and Eranda Hewapathirana - all with cricket potential.

Coach Piyal Wijetunga, who played for St. Anthony’s in the mid- 1980s, did well and was backed by the Cricket Wing packed with past cricketers like Jayantha Udukumbura, Duminda Kolugolla, C. P. P. Raj, Sumedha Arawawella, Ranjith Peries, Rusel de la Motte to name a few.

Standing (L-R) Sumedha Arawawella (Manager, Cricket Operations), Sahan Pallihakkara, Roshan Mahesan, Malindu Perera, Prasanna Illangakoon, Gimhan Dissanayake, Piyal Wijetunga (Coach), Milina Ranasinghe, Jerome Sigertz, Shamil Uduwake, Champika Siriwardene (Asst. Coach) and Saheer Reyal.

Squatting (L-R) Varuna de Silva, Dinusha Wijewardena, Adel Reyal, Harshana Madagoda, Sameera Weerabahu (Vice Capt) Shameer Munas, Promod Fernando (Capt), Peter Samarakoon, Selwyn Jamion and F. Leronade.


Powered By -

Produced by Upali Group of Companies