Junior National Badminton Championships
Dharmasoka and Anula BMV overall champs
by Dhammika Ratnaweera

Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda were the boys’ overall champions at the 35th Junior National Badminton Championships concluded last week in Colombo. They were followed by Royal College and Ananda College.

Anula BMV Nugeogda won the overall championship in the girls’ segment while Lindsay College and Visakha Vidyalaya became the first and the second runners-up.

Over 5000 shuttlers took part in this year’s championship. The outstation players dominated the tournament which was conducted by the Sri Lanka Schools Badminton Association (SLSBA) in collaboration with the Sri Lanka Badminton Association (SLBA).

The tournament was conducted in three stages — zonal level, provincial level and national level. The cream of the players came to Colombo for the final round. In fact, it was the major tournament of the schools calendar and easily became the one involving the highest number of competitors. There were competitors from 167 schools and the especial feature was the participation of 26 shuttlers from Jaffna region in the final rounds in Colombo after 1983. A few Jaffna shuttlers were able to reach the third round of the tournament and that alone was a great achievement for them.

Boys and girls Under 11, 13, 15, 17, 19 Singles and Under 13, 15, 17 and 19 Doubles events were conducted. Based on their performance in the Singles events, boys and girls were selected for the Under 19 Mixed Doubles events.

Dinuka retains Under 19 title

Dinuka Karunaratne of Royal College retained the Boys Under 19 Singles title for the second year in succession. Dinuka proved his class clinching the Under 19 Doubles title as well. He beat Thomian Eranga Rajapakse 15-10, 15-6 in the Singles. He then partnered by K.G.K Jayawardena of Dharmaraja, Kandy won the Under 19 Doubles title defeating Earanga Fernando of Dharmasoka and Lasith Menaka of Royal 15-10, 10-15, 15-9.

Dinuka speaking to the ‘Sunday Island’ said he was overjoyed after the victory. "It’s a big boost for my forward march," he said.

Sulochana triple crown winner

Meanwhile, Visakhian Sulochana Ariyadasa hogged the limelight winning a triple crown. She won the Under 19 Singles defeating Dharmasokian Lakshi de Silva 11-5, 11-1. Then she joined Prathibani Bambarandage of Devi BMV to clinch the Under 19 Girls Doubles title. Finally, together with Eranga Fernando she won the Mixed Doubles title defeating Dinuka Karunaratne and Prathibani Bambarandage.

Sulochana, who is in the Senior National pool as well as SAG pool recently received a two-month International Badminton Federation (IBF) training in Beijing, China.

Nayomi Karunaratne (Visakha), a cousin sister of Dinuka, won the Girls Under 15 title defeating Harini Perera of Anula BMV 2-11, 11-4, 11-0. She was adjudged the Most Improved Girl Player for her performances.

M.A.S. Sandaruwan, the unseeded player of President’s College, Maharagama reached the Boys Under 13 final and was later adjudged the Most Improved Boy’s Player.

NOC Chief praises badminton

set up

Hemasiri Fernando, the Chairman of the National Olympic Committee was the Chief Guest and gave away the main awards. "The standard of badminton has increased. Niluka Karunaratne is the best example. Niluka (ranked 71 in the world) has a good future", Fernando said.

The NOC chief also revealed that the International Olympic Committee will donate 1.2 million rupees for Niluka’s training in the next two years running to the Olympics in Beijing. "We expect more from our shuttlers at next year’s South Asian Games in Sri Lanka," he concluded.

Results: (Finals only)


Under 11- Boys- Viduka Oshan (Dharmasoka) bt Y. Athugoda (Royal) 15-4, 15-7

Girls- Kavindi Ishadika (Lindsay) bt Puneesha Pasqual (Musaeus) 11-4, 11-4

Under 13- Boys- Thanura Dhakshitha (Dharmasoka) bt M.A.S. Sandaruwan (President’s Maharagama) 15-7, 15-4

Girls- Lekha Shehani (OLVC Moratuwa) bt L. Shehara (Dharmasoka ) 15-9. 4-15, 15-8

Under 15 – Boys- N. Hettiarachchi (Ananda) bt Lakshitha Madiranga (Dharmasoka) 15-9, 4-15, 15-8

Girls- Nayomi Karunaratne (Visakha) bt Harini Perera (Anula BMV, Nugegoda) 2-11, 11-4, 11-0

Under 17- Boys- R.S. Dahanayake (Dharmaraja) bt Nayaktha Wijesekera (Ananda) 15-8, 9-15, 15-12

Girls- Gayani Perera (Anula BMV) bt Subodha Dhahanayake (Musaeus) 11-6, 11-7

Under 19- Boys- Dinuka Karunaratne (Royal) bt Eranga Rajapakshe (S. Thomas’) 15-10, 15-6

Girls- Solochana Ariyadasa (Visakha) bt Lakshi de Silva (Dharmasoka) 11-5, 11-1


Under 13- Boys- Sevan Serasinghe / Tharanga Dhakshitha (Dharmasoka) bt R. Perera / P. Weerasuriya (Ananda)15-8, 15-6

Girls- Achini Ratnasiri / U.S Samanthi(Lindsay) bt L. Sehara (Dharmasoka) / L. Sehani (OLV)15-13

Under 15- Boys- Nuwan Hettiarachchi(Ananda) / Menaka Wijeratne(Richmond) bt Lakshitha Maduranga(Dharmasoka) / Dilshan Kariyawasam(Ananda) 15-7, 15-4

Girls- Chemaka Madurawala / Akila Jayawardena (Musaeus) bt Nayomi Karunarantne (Visakha) / Prabasvari Pushpachaya (Dharmasoka) 15-13, 15-5

Under 17- Boys- I.N Nimalachanda / C. Manawadu (Royal) bt I. Maduranga / Sehan Madusanka (Dharmasoka) 15-2, 11-15, 15-4

Girls- Gayani Perera / Bimalka Wimalsinghe (Anula BMV) bt Posya Dharmapala (Lindsay) / Manosha Chandrasena 15-6, 15-6

Under 19- Boys- Dinuka Karunaratne (Royal)/ K.G.K Jayawardena (Dharmaraja) bt Eranga Fernando (Maliaydeva)/ Lasitha Menaka(Roayal) 15-10, 10-15, 15-9

Girls- Sulochana Ariyadasa (Visakha) Prathibani Bambarandage (Devi BMV) bt Ravihari de Silva / Uprana Katuwawala (Anula BMV) 15-7, 15-8


Powered By -

Produced by Upali Group of Companies