Sports

Pakistan captain focus of another controversy

NOTTINGHAM, England (AP) - Pakistan cricket captain Inzamam-ul-Haq, who already faces disciplinary charges resulting from a ball-tampering ruling, was at the center of another controversy on Friday when he claimed a catch that wasn’t.

Fielding at first slip, Inzamam was convinced he took a low catch off England captain Andrew Strauss during the fourth one-day international at Trent Bridge. As Inzamam’s team-mates ran to congratulate him, Strauss refused to leave the crease, equally convinced that the ball had not carried to the Pakistan skipper.

It took TV umpire Ian Gould to rule the ball hit the ground before going into Inzamam’s hands.

When the verdict came up on the video screen, England fans began chanting ‘’cheat, cheat,’’ at Inzamam.

‘’We thought the ball landed in my fingers but it’s difficult for the umpires to see,’’ he said, ‘’That’s why it was referred to the third umpire.’’

Strauss, on 5 at the time, went on to score 78 and help England win by eight wickets, and leave Pakistan leading the series by only 2-1. The final one-dayer is on Sunday at Edgbaston.

Inzamam is due to appear before an International Cricket Council disciplinary hearing on Sept. 27-28 arising out of a ball-tampering ruling at the end of the fourth test at The Oval.

 

Powered By -


Produced by Upali Group of Companies