Senior National Badminton Championships 2006
Niluka clinches a triple crown
by Lakmal Fernando

The national player Niluka Karunaratna won the menís singles, menís doubles and mixed doubles titles to clinch a triple crown at Senior National Badminton Championships which ended on December 18 at Royal College Sports Complex, Colombo.

The Championships were organized by the Sri Lanka Badminton Association for the 54th consecutive year.

Niluka put a stunning performance to grab the menís single title for the sixth successive year registering a 2 to nil convincing win against Eranga Fernando. In the semi-finals Niluka overcame Yehan Ranasinghe posting a 2 to nil easy win, while Eranga beat Amila Yatapana 2 to nil.

Niluka again played brilliantly when he displayed a classy performance in menís doubles with his partner Chamira Kumarapperuma. They outplayed A. Lakshan and H. Chanka beating the opponents 2 to nil. They then defeated K. Jayawardena and R. Dahanayaka 2-1 to reach the final while Lakshan and Chanka beat Diluka Karunaratna and Dinuka Karunaratna 2 -1 in the other semi-final.

Mixed doubles final was the decisive match for Niluka for him to take a triple crown which he was to achieve for the first time at a Senior National. Niluka and J. Thilini won the title 2 to nil against Kamal Gamlath and Chandrika. They beat P. Indrajith and Uma Perera in the first semi-final while Kamal and Chandrika received a walk-over from Diluka K and Sulochana Ariyadasa in the second semis.

Womenís Category

Meanwhile Chandrika de Silva outshone in the womenís category when she bagged the womenís single title with an entertaining 2 to nil victory over Thilini Jayasinghe. In the semi-finals Chandrika beat Nadeesha Gayanthi 2 to nil while Thilini inflicted a 2-1 win over Sulochana Ariyadasa.

Nadeesha and R. Rasangi won the womenís doubles after beating Chandrika and Dihani 2-1. They beat R. Ruvini and Peushani Silva 2 to nil in the semi-final while Chandrika and Dilhani received a walk-over in the other semis.

Results of Finals:

Masters singles (over-50) - P. Amarasinghe beat R. Bongso 2-1 (15/21, 25/23, 21/9)

Masters double (over-50) - D. Gunaratne and Terry Miskin beat M. Amarasinghe and M. Chandrathilake 2-0 (21/17, 21/7)

Menís veterans single (over-40) - N. Wijekoon beat Anoj Thilakaratne 2-0 (21/8, 21/4)

Menís veterans doubles (over-40) Ė N. Wijekoon and A. Weerasinghe beat Sumith Guruge and S. Wickramanayake 2-0 (21/14, 21/14)

Plate event for Menís- N. Hettiarachchi beat N. Mahinda 2-1 (21/16, 13/21, 21/14).


Powered By -

Produced by Upali Group of Companies