"Battle of Dematagoda" commences again

by Reemus Fernando

‘Battle of Dematagoda’, the annual cricket big match between St. John’s College and St. Mathews’ College Dematagoda will be played at the Railway Grounds on Saturday after a lapse of 31 years.

The big match was last played at the Police Ground in 1976 and this will be the second time the two teams meet each other. The annual affair has received the blessings of past cricketers and the old boys of the two colleges who are looking forward for cricket to prosper in the two institutions with the recommencement of the stalled encounter.

St John’s will be led by A. Sajeevan while St. Mathews will be captained by Noel Bernard.

St. John’s College

A. Sajeewan (Captain), M. Rinzan (Vice Captain), R. Roshan, M. Shasil, A. Divakar, M. Shain, M.F.N. Rinzan, A. Aravindan, Nadeera Madushan, M. Jazim, M. Umarshan, N. Tyron, Roshan Anthony David, N. Nawsadeen, Nayanajith Dias, S. Asmadeen, M. Arif, M. Rishad

St. Mathews’ College

Noel Bernard (Captain), Gayan Lakmal (Vice Captain), Niroshan Madushanka, Tharaka Madushanka, Benedict Nilan, Danushka Dilshan, Romesh Nilantha, Kasun Rukshan, Wickrama de Zilva, Damith Sanjeewa, Harshana Indika, Dilip Kumara, Amith Madushanka, Krishantha Rajendra, Joseph Dixon, Danushka Madushanka, Namal Sampath, Mohammed Niprash, Kasun Kavinda, S. Dharshana.


Powered By -

Produced by Upali Group of Companies