Siriduwa SC crowned in President’s Gold Cup
by Ruchira Mendis

Seeduwa, a miniature suburb off the Colombo-Negombo high way, is famous for its nagging interest for the ‘so-called’ National Game of the country, Volleyball.

Seeduwa has the rich traditional history of producing outstanding volleyball players and even schools like Davisamara College, Seeduwa, is far ahead of most of the school that play volleyball as they dominate the schools volleyball together with Dhammissara College, Nattandiya, and D.S. Senanayake College, Mathampe.

Siriduwa SC, Seeduwa, is the National Champions of Volleyball this year as they put on a dazzling display of attacking Volleyball to make sure they eliminate their opponents, Vijaya SC, Koswadiya, in a hard fought contest ended at the National Youth Service Centre, Maharagama, last week.

Presently they hold on to the prestigious Dialog GSM President’s Gold Cup as they beat Vijaya SC by 3 sets to 2 (23-25, 25-20, 21-25, 25-21, 15-11) in the final which went down to the wire as none of the teams being able to dictate terms on any other. Siriduwa SC was unbeaten right throughout the tournament as they top the table in District, Provincial and National levels.

Dinesh Pradeep, the Best Player of the match, despite his quiet and collective mannerism, was the man for the future as he collected the most vital points when the team needed those most. Apart from being a powerful spiker, he is also one of the best diggers around with great mobility.

The other players excelled for the champions outfit were Wasantha Rathnapala, Thilanga Rukshan, Mahesh Perera, Aruna Ruwan and all important setter Jagath Sanjaya. Their Libero player Chamika Nishan was the best libero of the contest and he became the best digger who covered a lot of court space moving around with agility.

Among other important individual performers, Jagath Sanjaya was the Best Setter and Thilina Rukshan was the Best Server of the final who helped Siriduwa SC to emerge champions.

The Champion squad:

Siriduwa SC, Seeduwa

Dinesh Pradeep (Captain), Mahesh Perera, Jagath Sanjaya, Lahiru Shayaman, Isuru Shayaman, Thilanga Rukshan, Chamila Nishan, Wasantha Rathnapala, Aruna Ruwan, Nishan Chamara, Chanak Samanpriya, Melan Jayawardene and Sunil Damian Fernando (Coach)




Powered By -

Produced by Upali Group of Companies