Pillaiyan joins other Chief Ministers to demand full powers to PCs

All chief ministers of the eight provincial councils including the recently elected chief minister of the Eastern Province Sivanesathurai Chandrakanthan have decided to forward a resolution to the Government that they be vested with full powers in accordance with the 13th amendment.

These powers hitherto not enjoyed by the seven provincial councils include police, land and judiciary. Government was in favour of granting these powers to the PCs as recommended by the All Party Representative Committee (APRC) chaired by Minister Prof.Tissa Witharana

The chief ministers conference to be held in Badulla will be presided by Uva Provincial Chief Minister Vijith Wijthamuni Soysa. It is scheduled for May 30 and 31 and is the 24th such meeting of chief ministers.

Soysa said even at the previous meetings of the chief ministers they were agitating for the full implementation of powers vested under the 13th amendment.The chief ministers will also request more funds from the central government to rectify shortcomings in administration, filling of vacancies and the full implementation of maga neguma, gama neguma and the apiwavamu ratanagamu programmes.

Presidential Secretary Lalith Weeratunga will be chief guest and guest of honour will be Secretary to the Treasury Dr.P.B.Jyasundera..

The following chief ministers will grace the occasion, Reginald Cooray( Western Provincial Council), Shan Wijelal Silva (Southern Provincial Council), Sarath Ekanayakae (Central Provincial Council) Shan Wijesinghe (Wayamba Provincial Council), Mahipala Herath (Sabrgamuwa Province), Berty Premlal Dissanayake (North Central Province) Sivanesathurai Chandrakanthan (Eastern Province) and Vijith Wijithamuni Soysa. The chief secretaries of all provincial councils will also participate.

www island.lk

Copyright©Upali Newspapers Limited.

Hosted by


Upali Newspapers Limited, 223, Bloemendhal Road, Colombo 13, Sri Lanka, Tel +940112497500