Raqibul, Nazmul feature in Bangladesh win
DHAKA, Bangladesh (AP) - A strong performance by the home team’s bowlers gave Bangladesh a six-wicket win over Zimbabwe on Wednesday, squaring the one-day series.

Zimbabwe was reduced to 47-6 before recovering to 160 - a target that Bangladesh reached with five overs to spare.

Bangladesh paceman Nazmul Hossain took three wickets to lead the rout of Zimbabwe’s top order, threatening to dismiss the visitors for an embarrassingly low total and justifying the decision of captain Mohammad Ashraful to bowl first after winning the toss.

After a decent opening stand of 26, Zimbabwe lost six wickets for only 21 runs.

Sean Williams (59) and captain Prosper Utseya (38) pulled Zimbabwe toward a respectable total with a 96-run stand for the seventh wicket. Williams hit three boundaries and one six off 89 balls for his eighth one-day fifty before being run out.

In reply, Raqibal Hasan hit an unbeaten 52, from 100 balls with seven boundaries, to steer Bangladesh to a comfortable victory.

Raqibal came to the crease with Bangladesh on 42-2 and shared a 52-run partnership for the third wicket with Mehrab Hossan (43) that put the hosts in a winning position.

Mushfiqur Rahim, unbeaten on 13, hit a four and six off the final two deliveries to take Bangladesh to 164-4 and level the three-match series, with the decider to be played at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium on Friday.



V. Sibanda lbw Nazmul Hossain 7

H. M’kadza c R. Hossain b N. Hossain 17

S. Matsikenyeri run out 10

T. Taibu c M. Hossan b R. Hossain 3

S. Williams run out 59

E. Chigumbura b N. Hossain 1

M. Waller b R. Hossain 1

P. Utseya lbw Mortaza 38

R. Price b Mortaza 7

T. Mupariwa not out 1

Extras: ( 6lb, 8w, 2nb) 16

TOTAL: (for nine wickets ) 160.

Overs: 50

Fall of wickets: 1-26, 2-29, 3-37, 4-45, 5-46, 6-47, 7-143, 8-159, 9-160

Did not bat: E. Rainsford

Bowling: Mortaza 10-1-22-2 (1nb), N. Hossain 10-1-28-3, R. Hossain 8-2-29-2 (1w, 1nb), Al Hasan 10-3-24-0 (1w), Islam 9-0-39-0 (2w), Riyad 3-0-12-0.Bangladesh

T. Iqbal b Mupariwa 21

M. Hossan c Utseya b Price 43

M. Ashraful c Utseya b Rainsford 5

R. Hasan not out 52

S. Al Hasan c Taibu b Utseya 22

M. Rahim not out 13

Extras: (5b, 3w) 8

TOTAL: (for four wickets) 164.

Overs: 44.5

Fall of wickets: 1-32, 2-42, 3-94, 4-135

Did not bat: M. Mortaza, N. Islam, M. Riyad, N. Hossain, R. Hossain.

Bowling: Rainsford 9-0-33-1, Utseya 10-1-24-1 (2w), Mupariwa 8.5-1-35-1, Chigumbura 6-0-35-0 (1w), Price 10-0-20-1, Williams 1-0-12-0.

Umpires: Z. Haider, (Pak), E. Hoque, (Ban).

TV umpire: N. Shah, (Ban).

Match referee: A. Hurst, (Aus).

Result: Bangladesh won by 6 wickets

Series: 1-1

www island.lk

Copyright©Upali Newspapers Limited.

Hosted by


Upali Newspapers Limited, 223, Bloemendhal Road, Colombo 13, Sri Lanka, Tel +940112497500