President, PM and Ranil agree on nominees to the CC

The President, Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition have agreed on five persons to be appointed to the Constitutional Council the Supreme Court was told by the Attorney General yesterday.

Four of the five names mentioned are, Nihal Seneviratne, the former Secretary General of Parliament, S. Nadesan, K. Vignaswaran (retired Supreme Court Judge) and Professor Sherieff Dean.

Court was told that, Professor Savithri Goonesekera’s name had been suggested instead of Ranjith Abeysuriya. The Chief Justice suggested Professor W. D. Laxman for fifth place. The minority parties had suggested the name of Mayadunne, the retired Auditor General. But Mayadunne had declined.

The Speaker is to tell the minority parties to suggest another person.

The Court has given time till February 10, for submission of a finalised list.

In this Case the Centre for policy Alternatives had complained that the State had failed to appoint a Constitutional Council as stipulated by the Constitution of Sri Lanka.

M. A. Sumanthiran appeared with Viran Corea for the CPA.

Senior State Counsel N. G. Pulle, appeared for the Attorney General.

The motion filed by the CPA, against the appointment of Mohan Pieris PC, as the Attorney General, is also to be called on February 10.

Sanjeeva Jayewardene, instructed by Sudath Perera Associates appeared for Mohan Pieris.

N. G. Pulle, SSC, pointed out to the Court that the CPA had not challenged the suitability of Mohan Pieris to be Attorney General. The Court said that when the CC is appointed the issue will be considered.

The Bench comprised the Chief Justice Sarath N. Silva, Justice Shirani Tilakewardene and Justice K. Sripavan.

www island.lk

Copyright©Upali Newspapers Limited.

Hosted by


Upali Newspapers Limited, 223, Bloemendhal Road, Colombo 13, Sri Lanka, Tel +940112497500