SLFP calls for applications to contest polls

Those wishing to contest the forthcoming parliamentary elections on the SLFP ticket, have been requested to submit their details to SLFP party headquarters on or before Friday, February 5, General Secretary of the party Minister Maithripala Sirisena said.

He said necessary application forms could be obtained from the party headquarters.

Nomination boards have been appointed provincial wise and all applications would be scrutinised by those boards before final selections are made.

Ministers Nimal Siripala de Silva, Janaka Bandara Tennekoon, Athauda Seneviratne, Piyasena Gamage, Pavithra Wanniarachchi and Attorney-at-Law Saliya Mathew would be on the nomination board to select candidates for electoral districts in the North Western, North Central, Northern and Eastern Provinces.

A nomination board consisting of Ministers W. D. J. Seneviratne, S. B. Nawinna, Anura Priyadharshana Yapa, Ranjith Siyambalapitiya, Sabaragamuwa Chief Minister Maheepala Herath and President’s Counsel D. P. Mendis would be in charge of selection of SLFP candidates for electoral districts in the Western, Central and Uva Provinces.

Ministers Susil Premjayantha, A. H. M. Fowzie, C. B. Ratnayake, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, North Central Province Chief Minister Berty Premlal Dissanayake and Attorney-at-Law Champani Padmasekera would form the nomination board to select candidates for Southern and Sabaragamuwa Provinces.

A Board of Appeal too has been formed comprising Prime Minister Ratnasiri Wickremanayake, D. M. Jayaratne, Maithripala Sirisena, Dallas Alahapperuma, Parliamentarian Basil Rajapaksa and Attorney-at-Law W. Karunajeewa.

Applicants dissatisfied with the selection process by nomination boards could appeal to the Board of Appeal for redress, SLFP sources said.

www island.lk

Copyright©Upali Newspapers Limited.

Hosted by


Upali Newspapers Limited, 223, Bloemendhal Road, Colombo 13, Sri Lanka, Tel +940112497500