Twelve TNA MPs sidelined – Sivajilingham

Independent candidate at the recently concluded Presidential election and ex-TNA Parliamentarian representing TELO, M. K. Sivajilingham said that his party hierarchy had sidelined 12 former MPs over their alleged support to the LTTE.

With the decimation of the LTTE on the military front, the TNA leadership had changed the ideological stands of the party, he said.

He said the task of making a final decision on TNA’s participation at the forthcoming election had been entrusted to a five member committee led by Party Leader R. Sampanthan.

The other stalwarts of the TNA are Mavai Senathirajah of the ITAK, Suresh Premachandran of EPRLF, Selvam Adaikalanathan of TELO and Gajendrakumar Ponnambalam of the ACTC .

Sivajilingham attributed his poor performance at the Presidential elections in the Jaffna district to negative reports published in ‘Uthayan’ and other papers.

Sivajilingam expressed these views when he was asked whether the other TNA MP and TELO member, Attorney- at- Law N. Srikantha and he had held discussions with NSSP Leader Dr. Wickremabahu Karunaratna and decided to contest the forthcoming Parliamentary elections on the NSSP ticket.

He said, "We would decide on an alternative following the decision of the TNA Leadership on the elections".

He said he was awaiting the final decision of the five member committee of the TNA headed by R. Sampanthan.

www island.lk

Copyright©Upali Newspapers Limited.

Hosted by


Upali Newspapers Limited, 223, Bloemendhal Road, Colombo 13, Sri Lanka, Tel +940112497500