Academics join Jaffna poll race
A university professor and two school principals are among Tamil National Alliance (TNA) candidates contesting the upcoming parliamentary elections from the Jaffna district, sources said yesterday.

The TNA yesterday handed over its nomination papers for Jaffna, Vanni, Trincomalee and Digamadulla districts, said ex-party MP Suresh Premachandran.

He and Mavai Senathirajah are the only Jaffna district TNA members from the previous parliament (2004-2009) to be included in the Jaffna list.

Former TNA MPs Pathmini Sithamparanathan, Selvarajah Gajendran and Gajendrakumar Ponnambalam have not received party nominations.

School principals Kandiah Arunthavapalan and S Sritharan and Prof Rajaratnam Sivachandran are among the new faces.

The other TNA candidates from the Jaffna district are: A Vinayagamoorthy, C V K Sivagnanam, Soosaipillai Kulanayagam, Nadesu Rajendran, Eeswarapatham Saravanapawan, Iynakaranesan Ponnuthurai and Mudiyappu Remedias.

Tamil newspaper journalist Sri Kajan, meanwhile, said he is contesting the polls as a UNP candidate. It was not clear yesterday whether he would enter the race from Jaffna or Colombo.

The widow of assassinated UNP MP T Maheswaran is likely to contest from the Jaffna district, sources added.


www island.lk

Copyright©Upali Newspapers Limited.

Hosted by


Upali Newspapers Limited, 223, Bloemendhal Road, Colombo 13, Sri Lanka, Tel +940112497500