Ian Tait retains Donald Steel Trophy

Former Cheshire Minor County cricketer and ruggerite, Englishman Ian Tait, displayed his supremacy once again to retain the prestigious Donald Steel Trophy, while two sisters, Niloo Jayatillake (Pam Fernando Trophy) and Roshini Sangani (Vitoria Bowl) putted themselves to glory at the 12th Annual Donald Steel Golf Championship 2010, organised by the Victoria Golf and Country Resort and worked off at the picturesque Victoria Golf Course, in Rajawella, off Kandy.

Over one hundred golfers, both foreign and local, participated in this competition which was a roaring success. The golf course came in for a lot of praise by the foreigners and locals.

This golf course was the dream of the late Mark Bostock and world famous golf architect Donald Steel who came over from England to design the course on a 500 acre coconut estate.

Today, Victoria is one of the best golf courses in the world and many facilities have been added on since then. It has also won the award for the best golf course in the Sub-continent in its 12-year-old history.

Ian Tait, with years of golfing experience in Dubai and many other countries was the toast of the Victorian community as he put up a fine display to retain the Donald Steel Trophy, which he won last year. But he had to contend with some strong play by Sujeewa Lankatillake and Sam Gunaratne, who got 30 points each against 31 by Ian Tait, who edged out his two main rivals by a single point in a thrilling finish. When it came to the runners-up, Herath Sujeewa Lankatillake and Sam Gunaratne had to battle it out on a count back on the last nine holes and Lankatillake emerged the winner by the thinnest of margins of 6:9 against 6:8.

The plum for the ladies, which was the Pam Fernando Trophy, also saw a gruelling battle between two top golfers, Niloo Jayatillake and Suwen Selvaratnam and the former won by a single point. Niloo Jayatillake got 27 gross, while defending champion Suwen Selvaratnam got 26 after a tense battle. In third place was Janny Nalder with 20 gross.

Roshini Sangani retained the Victoria Bowl without much effort by getting 44 Nett, with a clear lead of six points over runner-up Mayumi Kokschroon who got 38 Nett. In third place was Chrish Benjamin with 27 points.

Doing the honours at the colourful presentation of awards were Chris Holloway, Christie Thornton, Mrs. C. Thorton, Tony Witham and Senaka Amaratunga.


Victoria Bowl – Ladies’ Nett: Roshini Sangani

Ebert Pot – Men’s Net: Rosche Sascha

Longest Drive – Ladies’: Indira Tibblin

Longest Drive - Men: Dilip Kodikara

Pam Fernando Cup - Ladies Gross: Niloo Jayatillake

Nearest to the Pin – Ladies’: Caryl Swahn

Nearest to the Pin - Men: Ron Bakelman

Donald Steel Trophy: Ian Tait

Runner-up: Sujeewa Lankatillake

Third Place: Sam Gunaratne.

www island.lk

Copyright©Upali Newspapers Limited.

Hosted by


Upali Newspapers Limited, 223, Bloemendhal Road, Colombo 13, Sri Lanka, Tel +940112497500