Fails to qualify in Junior Davis Cup
SL victorious in World Junior Tennis

Sri Lanka’s three-member Under-14 team played in the Asia-Oceania Zone Pre-qualifying event for World Juniors annual ITF global tennis competition, held this year in Colombo, came in first to qualify for the next Zonal Qualifying Round, to be held in China in May.

Both World Juniors and Junior Davis Cup, held for Under-16 boys, were annual ITF events held globally and in this year they were staged in Sri Lanka under the sponsorship of ABC Shipping. BNP Paribas is the global sponsor of Junior Davis Cup. Punit Gupta was the ITF Referee of the two events while Suresh Menon was the ITF Representative.

The team comprising Sharmal Dissanayake, Alexander Fairbanks and Nishangan Nadarajah, who were led by their Non-Playing Captain Bharathi Raj Pillai, finished first out of five participating countries this year as the event came to an end on Friday (26) at the Sri Lanka Tennis Association (SLTA) hard courts at Green Path.

Sri Lanka on Fri. beat Malaysia to finish first while Malaysia ended up second. One out of Kazakhstan and Syria was to qualify as the third nation for the final Zonal qualifying round, to be staged in Anqing City, China, from May 10-15. The final of the World Juniors, the annual global 14-and-under boys international team competition, will be held this time in Prostejov, Czech Republic, from Aug. 2-7. Saudi Arabia was the fifth country to participate in this year’s World Juniors pre-qualifiers ended in Colombo.

SL lose in Junior Davis Cup

Meanwhile Sri Lanka failed to qualify for the final qualifying round in another junior international boys (Under-16) tennis event staged in Colombo this week alongside the World Juniors, also at the SLTA. That was the Junior Davis Cup Asia-Oceania Zone Pre-qualifying Event.

Sri Lanka who lost to Syria on Fri. ended up a close fourth behind Indonesia, Kazakhstan and Syria, who will now enter the final Zonal qualifiers, to be held soon in Malaysia.

Sri Lanka team for this year’s Junior Davis Cup consisted Vimuktha de Alwis, Thuruna Eshwarage and Chinthaka Shaveen. Their Non-Playing Captain was Dinith Pathiraja.

www island.lk

Copyright©Upali Newspapers Limited.

Hosted by


Upali Newspapers Limited, 223, Bloemendhal Road, Colombo 13, Sri Lanka, Tel +940112497500