South Africa bats first vs. India in 3rd ODI

AHMEDABAD, India (AP) - South Africa captain Jacques Kallis won the toss and decided to bat first in the third and final limited-overs international against India at Sardar Patel Stadium on Saturday.

India has already taken an unbeatable 2-0 lead in the three-match series with victories at Jaipur and Gwalior.

India openers Sachin Tendulkar - who scored an unprecedented double century in the second match - and Virender Sehwag were rested as India made four changes.

Tamil Nadu opener Murali Vijay and fast bowler Abhimanyu Mithun made their debuts in ODIs while Suresh Tyagi and Rohit Sharma replaced Praveen Kumar and Ashish Nehra.

South Africa also made four changes and gave fast bowler Lonwabo Tsotsobe his first match of the tour. Loots Bosman replaced injured Jean-Paul Duminy while Morne Morkel and Johan Botha also retured.


South Africa: Jacques Kallis (captain), Herschelle Gibbs, Hashim Amla, A.B. de Villiers, Loots Bosman, Mark Boucher, Johan Botha, Roelof van der Merwe, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn and Lonwabo Tsotsobe.


Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Murali Vijay, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Yusuf Pathan, Ravinder Jadeja, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, Abhimanyu Mithun and Suresh Tyagi.

Umpires: Ian Gould (England), and Amiesh Saheba (India). TV Umpire: Shavir Tarapore (India).

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe).

www island.lk

Copyright©Upali Newspapers Limited.

Hosted by


Upali Newspapers Limited, 223, Bloemendhal Road, Colombo 13, Sri Lanka, Tel +940112497500