Prasanna, Shan sworn in as CMs

Angage not reappointed as Minister One ministerial post of Southern left vacant


By Dasun Edirisinghe

Prasanna Ranatunga and Shan Wijayalal de Silva were sworn in as the Chief Ministers of the Western and Southern Provincial Councils respectively, while seven other councillors were also sworn in as ministers for the two provinces followed by the swearing in of all councillors, elected at the Saturday’s Provincial Council election, before President Mahinda Rajapaksa at an auspicious time yesterday morning at the Presidential Secretariat.

Prasanna Ranatunga who polled a staggering 249, 678 preferential votes from the Gampaha District, topped the UPFA list at Saturday’s poll, while Shan Wijayalal Silva topped the UPFA Galle District list with 95,860 preferential votes.

One ministerial post in the Southern Provincial Council has been left vacant. It would be filled within the next few days, the Presidential Secretariat said.

All councillors who had functioned as ministers in the previous council in both provinces received ministerial posts except former Health Minister of the Western Provincial Council Jagath Angage, who contested from the Kalutara District and was placed fourth with 40,964 preferential votes on the UPFA list. That ministerial post went to former Chairman of the Western Provincial Council and Kalutara District team UPFA team leader at Saturday’s election Ranjith Somawansa. Udaya Gammanpila, who came second in the Colombo District UPFA list with 116,475 preferential votes, was sworn in as Minister of Agriculture, Agrarian Development, Minor Irrigations, Industries, Environment and Cultural and Arts of the Western Provincial Council, while Upali Kodikara from the same district, was sworn in as the Minister of

Power and Energy, Provincial Roads, Housing and Construction, Water Supply and Drainage, Social Welfare, Urban and Estate Infrastructure facilities. Kodikara had obtained 48,121 preferential votes and was placed third in the Colombo District list.

Nimal Lanza, of the Gampaha District, who obtained 106,066 preferential votes and secured second place, was sworn in as the Western Province Minister of Transport, Spots and Youth Affairs, Women Affairs, Food Supply and Distribution, Co-operative Development, Domestic Economy Promotion, Fisheries, Rural Development, Tourism, Investment Promotion Coordinating and Animal Production and Development.

Ranjith Somawansa, contested from the Kalutara District and obtained 40,863 preferential votes for the fifth place was appointed as the Western provincial minister of Health and Indigenous Medicine, Probation and Childcare Services and Council Affairs.

Chief Minister Prasanna Ranatunga will also function as the provincial minister of Finance and Planning, Law and Order, Lands, Education, Local Government and Provincial Administration, Human Resources and Employment and Information of the Western Province.

Former Southern Provincial Minister U. G. D. Ariyathilake, came second in UPFA Galle District list with 48,289 preferential votes and was appointed as the Minister of Agriculture, Agrarian Development, Irrigation, Water Supply and Drainage, Food Supply and Distribution and Co-operative Development of the Southern Provincial Council.

Former Education Minister of the SPC Chandima Rasaputhra, who contested from the Matara District and obtained 70,509 preferential votes for the second place of the UPFA list, was appointed as the provincial minister of Education, Lands and Land Development, Highways and Information of the SPC.

Former Provincial Minister D. V. Rohana Priya Upul who led the Hambantota District UPFA list and secured 66,995 preferential votes, was appointed as the Minister of Fisheries, Animal Production and Development, Environment, Rural Industries, Power and Rural and Estate Infrastructure Development.

In addition to the Chief Ministerial post, Shan Wijayalal Silva would function as the provincial minister of Finance and Planning, Law and Order, Local Government, Transport, Health and Indigenous Medicine, Tourism and Engineering Services of the Province, the Presidential Secretariat announced.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...