Trinity look for four in-a-row in the 70th Bradbly

by Roshen Steelman

Trinity will be eying a fourth consecutive victory at the 70th Bradby Shield when the first leg between Royal and Trinity get under way this evening at the Royal Sports Complex in Reid Avenue.

Trinity College

Having won the Bradby Shield from the year 2011, Trinity College led by coloursman Tarinda Ratwatte carry a huge weight of expectation on his shoulders. Ratwatte, the highest scorer so far in the Singer School Rugby League will be looking forward to continue his success to the Bradbly Shield for them to win it for the fourth consecutive year convincingly .

Having seen Trinity’s triumphs in the previous three occasions Ratwatte will be desperate to retain the title.

With seven third year players and five coloursmen in the side Trinity can be considered as the most experienced lineup in this year’s school circuit.

Trinity are riding high after recording a convincing win over D.S. Senanayake College in their opening encounter in the Schools Rugby League and following it up with a win against the Joes at home (34-17).

However the Lions went down against a strong Isipatana outfit before winning their last week’s encounter against Wesley.

Royal College

The Reid Avenue side led by third year coloursman Nimshan Jayawardena will come hard at Trinity to win what they lost four year’s back. Royal also have recorded three wins so far in the League but they also had a bitter experience at the hands of Isipatana.

Royal did not have the ideal start to the season as they had a setback in their first match against Isipatana but they bounced back well recording 22-20 win over Wesley College. It was followed with another close game where they beat St. Joseph’s 14 to 11. Royal dominated their match against D.S. Senanayake (60-08) to gain morale boost just ahead of the Bradby.

Royal have only three coloursmen in their side and Yohan Perera with hooker Supun Warnakulasooriya have to come up with strong performances.


Overall Trinity have won the title on 39 occasions while Royal have been able to secure 30 wins. One encounter has ended in a draw.



Nimshan Jayawardane,  Aaqil Jamaldeen,  Aerosh Elikewela,  Akash Iddawela, Ashok Vijeykumar, Ayendra Subasinghe, Bhanuka Gamage, Chandula Jayasundara, Daniel Gunasekaram, Dewnaka Jayakody, Dinitg Gunawardane, Gawesh Yapa, Gayal Jayasinghe, Harith Lokugamage, Ishfaaq Nazir, Keshan Peiris, Minura Punchihewa, Nadun Jayawardene, Nikhila Gunadeera, Pasindu Perera,Shawket Lahir, Supun Warnakulasooriya, Thivanka Perera, Umesh Madushan, Vinith Gunawardene


Anuradha Karunathilake, Nethmal Sakalasooriya, Sanka Athulgama, Nathan Ching, Shalindra Alahakoon, Buddhika Dodantenne,Pasindu Hemal,Suren Karunatileke,Rahul Karunathilake,Emesh Rangala,Chamod Dissanayaka , Naweed Seneviratna,Umesh Samarasekara,Rajith Samarasekara,Dushan Perera, Nipun Alahakoon,Isuru Rangala,Gazali Ismail, Sanushka Abeywickrema, Nagitha Ridimaliyadde, Thushila Perera , Tarinda Ratwatte,Shehan Elory,Ryan Weerakoon , Lochana Girihagama,DInuk Ratwatte,Rukshan Sasmin,Traveen Weerasooriya , Sanchana Shiek, Nishan Anthony Hadunge

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...