Kotagala docs continue strike

By Don Asoka Wijewardena

The Government Medical Officers’ Association (GMOA) yesterday said that the doctors attached to 12 MOH areas in the Nuwara Eliya District, except Kotagala had called off the strike action last Friday as Ministers Navin Dissanayaka and Maithripala Sirisena had given them an assurance for their safety.

GMOA General Committee member Dr. Lasantha Jinadasa told The Island that Minister Navin Dissanayaka had met Minister Maithripala Sirisena last Friday and assured that the security for all MOHs except Kotagala would be provided. He would be responsible for the full safety of the doctors in 12 MOH areas. Following the guarantee, the doctors and PHIs in 12 MOH areas in the Nuwara-Eliya District returned to work as usual.

GMOA General Committee member Dr. Sidath Weerasakara said that the GMOA had been awaiting a positive response from Minister Arumugam Thondaman who had threatened Kotagala MOH Abyegunawardena.

But so far the GMOA had not received any response from Minister Thonadama. The Kotagala MOH office would therefore remain closed and Kotagala MOH Dr. Abyegunawardena would not be transferred to another area as demanded by the CWC tender.

The Island tried to contact Minister Arumugama Thondama, but it was in vain.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...