Azwer resigns as UPFA National List MP; Ameer appointed


By Ajith Alahakoon

UPFA National List MP AHM Azwer resigned from his post with effect from yesterday. His vacancy would be filled by UPFA Eastern Provincial Councillor Ameer Ali whose name would soon be sent to the Elections Commissioner, UPFA sources said.

Ameer Ali is a former Parliamentarian from the Batticaloa District and a former non-Cabinet Minister of Disaster Relief Services from 2007 to 2010.

Ameer Ali was one of the three Eastern Provincial Council members. Others were Abdul Farook and Mohamed Shibly, who decided to sit independently in the council from 25 November. All three members represented All Ceylon Muslim Congress led by Industries and Commerce Minister Rishad Bathurdeen.

General Secretary of Parliament Dhammika Dassanayake confirmed that MP Azwer had tendered the letter of resignation.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...