Bandara gets Sirisena’s seat

Jayasinghe Bandara, who contested on the UPFA ticket in 2010 General Election, took oaths before Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa as an MP yesterday.

He was sworn in before the new government presented its interim budget. Bandara, who had come fifth in the list of preferential votes in the Polonnaruwa District at the 2010 general election was appointed to the seat which had fallen vacant due to Maithripala Sirisena’s resignation from Parliament upon being elected President. (SI)

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...