114 Opposition members signed no-faith motion again John Amaratunga

by Saman Indrajith

A no-confidence motion against Minister of Public Order, Disaster Management and Christian Affairs John Amaratunga was submitted to Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dassanayake yesterday by the opposition.

Addressing a press conference at the Parliamentary complex, Opposition Leader Nimal Siripala De Silva said that the motion had been signed by 114 members of the opposition. "The minimum of signatures needed only 20, but now we have more than half of the House signed the motion.

The number could have been more but lot of members have gone either abroad or to their electorates," he said.

The no-confidence motion has been brought against Minister Amaratunga as he had failed to maintain law and order in the country, the Opposition Leader said.  "A large number of our local government members and regional level supporters had come under the attack of the ruling party members during the post election period. The Minister responsible has not been able to maintain law and order and prevent post election violence. Some of our supporters, especially at Wattala and Nawalapitiya have been assaulted," De Silva said.

Asked whether President Maithripala Sirisena, who is also the chairman of the SLFP had endorsed the no-confidence motion, De Silva said: "This is a decision taken by the UPFA parliament group. This is only an exercise of the rights of the members of the UPFA parliament group. Thus, there was no need for seeking the President’s approval," he said.

"We repeatedly brought it to the notice of the government that SLFP members are being assaulted and harassed by UNPers during the post election period. He as the minister responsible has failed to bring the situation under control. We no longer have confidence in him. Thus, we will be moving a no confidence motion against him seeking his ouster from the portfolio."

UPFA MPs Wimal Weerawansa, Felix Perera, Thilanga Sumathipala, CB Ratnayake, Dullas Alahapperuma, Mahinda Amaraweera, Lasantha Alagiyawanne, Weerakumara Dissanayake, Chamika Buddhadasa, Ramesh Pathirana, Ruawan Ranatunga, Sarath Weerasekera and Arundika Fernando were present at the press conference.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...