Chairman CPC among 11 remanded

By Cyril Wimalasurendre

KANDY: Chairman Central Provincial Council and Chief Organiser for Pathahewaheta Mahinda Abeykoon and ten others accused in an election violence incident on December 5, 2001 were remanded until the hearing of the case was over by the High Court Judge of Kandy Ms. Menaka Wijesundara on Wednesday (25).

The suspects were earlier remanded till Wednesday after the case was called the previous day (24).

The eleven suspects stand charged with being in an unlawful assembly, trespass and several other counts.

State Counsel Udaya Karunatilaka led evidence.

Police sergeant 23336 A. M. S. Chandratilaka, who was on duty as security officer at the Galahawatte polling station gave evidence yesterday.

The Judge after recording the evidence put off further hearing for Thursday (26).

Those remanded were Mahinda Abeykoon, Anandalal Shantha Kumara, Samarajeewage Karunatilaka, Sampath Bandara, S. M. Ratnatilaka, Arumugam Sharvanandan, Sanath Srilal Kumara, B. K. Jayasinghe, Sarath Silva and Geetha Kumara Ajantha.

Attorneys Sunil Kithsiri Amaratunga and Nilantha Perera appeared for the suspects.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...