Marching orders for 12 District Secretaries

By Chaminda Silva

The government has transferred 12 District Secretaries with immediate effect.

The Secretaries of the districts of Gampaha, Badulla, Polonnaruwa, Matale, Kandy, Nuwara Eliya, Anuradhapura, Kegalle, Ampara, Jaffna, Kilinochchi and Mulaitivu have been transferred, Secretary to the Ministry of Home Affairs S. D. A.B. Boralessa said yesterday.

The transfers had been effected with the approval of the Cabinet of ministers; he said, adding that among those who received transfer orders were District Secretaries who had served more than four years in their districts and those who had applied for transfers. One of the district secretaries who received transfer order had served 30 years continuously in one district, Borelessa said.

Several more transfers would be effected in the near future, Boralessa said, noting that those transfers would be effected with approval of a Cabinet-subcommittee chaired by Minister Karu Jayasuriya.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...