SLFP and UPFA to deny nominations to MPs who oppose proposed 19A

The SLFP and UPFA have decided to deny nominations to their parliamentarians to contest the forthcoming parliamentary poll in the event they decline to vote in favor of the proposed 19th Amendment to the Constitution.

This decision has been arrived at following agreement reached by President Maithripala Sirisena and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe that the proposed 19th Amendment should be pushed through Parliament.

The proposed amendment is expected to be presented in the House on April 20. UPFA and UNP leaders have agreed to thereafter dissolve Parliament and call for a general election, political sources said.

It has also come to light that some MPs representing the SLFP and UPFA have held secret discussions with parliamentarians of other parties to vote against the proposed 19th Amendment.

It was in the light of this development that the party hierarch has decided to shut out MPs who opposed this piece of legislation, the sources said.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...