Good showing by NFF candidates; five secure parliamentary seats

by Dasun Edirisinghe

Five candidates of National Freedom Front (NFF) led by former Minister Wimal Weerawansa, who contested under the UPFA banner at last Monday’s general election, got elected from Matara, Kalutara, Moneragala and Colombo Districts.

Wimal Weerawansa obtained the highest number of preferential votes (313,801) from the UPFA.

 NFF Spokesman Anurudda Bandara said Matara District NFF leader, former journalist Niroshan Premaratne had bagged 99,762 preferential votes to become the second on the UPFA Matara District list.

Bandara said that former MP Jayantha Samaraweera, who contested from the Kalutara District under the UPFA banner had been placed third on the preferential vote list. He obtained 101,039 votes from the District.

The NFF Moneragala District candidate Padma Udayashantha Gunasekera was elected to Parliament with 57,356 preferential votes. Gunasekera had been placed third in the UPFA list, the spokesman said. 

Bandara said that NFF Deputy Chairman and former Deputy Minister Weerakumara Dissanayake had come second in the Anuradhapura District UPFA list with 69,489 preferential votes.

However, NFF Trincomalee District leader, Eastern Provincial Council member Jayantha Wijesekera failed to get elected to Parliament. Wijesekera obtained  17,756    preferential votes and was placed second on the Trincomalee District UPFA list. Only one UPFA member was elected from that district.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...