S.B. claims defeated candidates selected to parliament through National List owing to pact


By Sirimantha Ratnasekera

UPFA National List parliamentarian S. B. Dissanayake yesterday said he and several defeated UFPFA candiates had been appointed National List MPs according to a pact.

If the SLFP decided to give the National List MPs ministerial posts they would accept them, Dissanayake said.

Addressing a press conference at the SLFP headquarters at Darley Road, Dissanayake said the defeated UPFA candidates like him had fared well at previous elections but failed at the recently concluded polls because the Mahinda Rajapaksa loyalists had conspired against them.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...