Karu,Thilanga elected unanimously as Speaker and Deputy Speaker

TNA’s Adikkalanathan named Deputy Chairman of Committees

By Saman Indrajith

The eighth parliament which commenced sittings yesterday selected Karu Jayasuriya and Thilanga Sumathipala unanimously to the posts of Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively.

TNA’s Selvam Adikkalanathan was selected to the post of Deputy Chairman of Committees.

When the House commenced sittings at 9.30 am, as Sergeant-at-Arms Anil Parakrama paraded the Mace all members arose from their seats and he placed it below its normal position on the lower rest of the table opposite where Secretary General Dhammika Dassanayake, Deputy Secretary General Neil iddawela and Assistant Secretary General Kushani Rohanadheera sit.

Secretary General welcoming new MPs read out the Proclamation by President Maithripala Sirisena summoning the meeting and proceeded immediately to the election of the Speaker.  When he called on the House to propose names for the post of the Speaker, Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe got up and proposed the name of Karu Jayasuriya and SLFP Group Leader Nimal Siripala de Silva seconded it.

Secretary General Dassanayake then announced that Karu Jayasuriya had been selected to the post duly.

MP Jayasuriya got up from his seat and was accompanied to the Chair by Prime Minister Wickremesinghe and SLFP group leader De Silva. When Speaker Jayasuriya took his seat, Sergeant-at-Arms placed the Mace at its due position.

Speaker Jayasuriya thanked the House for having elected him to the post of Speaker and got up to take oaths and all MPs stood up till he finished swearing in. Thereafter the Speaker called on all MPs to take oaths.

After party leaders made congratulatory speeches, Deputy Speaker and Deputy Chairman of Committees positions were filled. SLFP Group Leader De Silva proposed the name of Thilanga Sumathipala to the post of Deputy Speaker and SLMC leader Rauf Hakeem seconded it. TNA MP MA Sumanthiran proposed the name of Selvam Adaikkilanathan to the post of Deputy Chairman of Committees while MP Lakshman Kiriella seconded it.

Thereafter, Speaker Jayasuriya announced to the House that Lakshman Kiriella had been appointed to the post of Leader of the House and Gayantha Karunathilake to the post of Chief Government Whip.

With the filling of key posts, the Speaker adjourned the House till 3.00 pm while announcing that President Sirisena would present the Statement of Government Policy when sittings resumed.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...