President appoints two new Chief Ministers

by Dasun Edirisinghe

President Maithripala Sirisena, in his capacity as the leader of the UPFA and Chairman of the SLFP, appointed Provincial Council member Isura Devapriya as the Chief Minister of the Western Province and Provincial Council member Dharmasiri Dassanayake as the Chief Minister of the North Western Provincial Council yesterday.

The two new Chief Ministers took their oaths at the Presidential Secretariat in the presence of Western Province Governor K.C. Logeswaran and North – Western Province Governor Amara Piyaseeli Rathnayake.

The two posts fell vacant as incumbent CMs of the two provinces Prasanna Ranatunga and Dayasiri Jayasekera were elected to Parliament at the August 17 parliamentary election.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...