Priyadharshani, Rumeshika shine at SA Games trials


Dilrukshi Priyadharshani competes in the women’s long jump.
(Pix by Kamal Wanniarachchi)

by Reemus Fernando

South Asian Games medal prospects long-jumper Dilrukshi Priyadharshani (NCD) and young sprinter Rumeshika Ratnayake hogged limelight on day two of the South Asian Games track and field selection trial held at the Mahinda Rajapaksa Stadium on Friday.

Priyadharshani, the gold medalist of the last South Asian Games, cleared a distance of 6.35 metres to secure her place in the SA Games team. She beat young challengers Surangi Silva and Vidusha Lakshani to win the women’s long jump conducted under wet track conditions.

St. Joseph’s Balika, Kegalle sprinter Ratnayake once again proved her calibre as the country’s best sprinter in the women’s category winning her second sprint event of the event. Despite wet weather hampering performances, the school girl clocked 24.45 seconds to win the 200 metres.

The men’s 200 metres saw Suranjaya de Silva beating Mohamed Rajaskhan to the second place with a feat of 21.24 seconds to join training partner Himasha Eshan (who qualified with a personal best in the 100m) in the SA Games team.

Favourites Ireshani Rajasinghe and Hasith Nirmal had little difficulty in winning the women’s and men’s 100 and 110 metres hurdles. Rajasinghe returned a time of 14.56 seconds, while Nirmal clocked 14.44 seconds.

Chinthaka Somawardena kept up to his billing winning the men’s 1,500 metres in a time of 3:49.24 seconds.

Gayanthika Abeyratne clocked 4:24.07 seconds to win the corresponding women’s event with Nilani Ratnayake and Eranga Dulakshi finishing second and third.

Olympian Nadeeka Lakmali won the women’s javelin throw as she cleared 57.81 metres.

Gayan Jayawardena won the men’s discus throw with a throw of 42.18 metres.

Tharanga Vinodani was the only athlete to go beyond the 1.70 metres mark in the women’s high jump. She cleared 1.73 metres to beat South Asian Games medalist Dulanjali Ranasinghe (1.66m).

Sisira Kumara won the hammer throw with a throw of 44.60 metres.

Tharika Fernando cleared a distance of 13.91 metres to win the women’s shot putt.

In the grueling 10,000 metres Anusha Lamahewa returned a time of 36:48.23 seconds to win. Men’s 5,000 metres was won by R.M.S. Pushpakumara (14:46.87secs).

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...