Inaugural meeting of Constitutional Assembly on April 5

By Saman Indrajith

The Constitutional Assembly approved recently by Parliament for formulating a new constitution and a new electoral system is scheduled to meet for the first time on April 05, parliament sources said yesterday.

It will meet in the Chamber of Parliament with Speaker Karu Jayasuriya presiding.

Sources said a proposal for the inaugural meeting of the Constitutional Council would be presented to the party leaders’ meeting for their approval today (23).

The Constitutional Assembly is scheduled to appoint seven deputy chairmen. For this purpose there should be a quorum of 20 MPs in the chamber, sources said.

They said at the same meeting an operational committee of not less than 17 members including the Prime Minister, Leader of the House, Leader of the Opposition and Minister of Justice would be appointed. That operational committee would be empowered to appoint any number of sub committees.

The Constitutional Assembly is expected to meet during the non-sitting days of Parliament and each member to entitled to Rs. 2,500 per sitting. The inaugural meeting of the Constitutional Assembly will be held inside the Chamber after Parliament meets and moving the House to a committee stage. The Mace will be placed on the lower bracket of its stand.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...