SLFP sends invitations to all its MPs including MR

May Day rally

by Maheesha Mudugamuwa

All SLFP parliamentarians including former President Mahinda Rajapaksa had been officially invited to participate in the party’s May Day rally in Galle, UPFA General Secretary Mahinda Amaraweera said yesterday.

Amaraweera told the media briefing at the SLFP headquarters in Colombo that though ex-President Rajapaksa had not yet confirmed his participation, the party was expecting his presence at the Galle rally.

Formal invitations had been dispatched to all SLFP MPs, he said.

The SLFP May Day rally organisers had also requested an appointment to meet former President Rajapaksa, but in vain, Minister Amaraweera said.

President Maithripala Sirisena had appointed the members of the Joint Opposition (JO) MPs Kumara Welgama, Mahindananda Aluthgamage and Pavithra Wanniarachchi as the members of the SLFP May Day Rally organising committee, Amaraweera said, adding that they neither accepted nor rejected the appointments, Amaraweera said.

Asked whether action would be taken against the SLFP MPs who failed to attend the rally, Minister Amaraweera stressed it was too early to comment on any disciplinary actions regarding those MPs who failed to attend the rally as it was the SLFP Central Committee (CC)’s responsibility to take such a decision.

Eleven UPFA constituent members had already confirmed their participation at the SLFP rally and discussions would be held with other parties within this week, he said.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...