Today is International Workers’ Day

The May Day rallies of the two major political parties, the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) and the United National Party (UNP) will be held today at the Samanala Grounds in Galle and at Campbell Park, Borella, respectively.

Party leaders, President Maithripala Sirisena (SLFP) and Prime Minister Ramil Wickremesinghe

The Joint Opposition meeting attended by former President Mahinda Rajapaksa will take place at Kirulapone.

The SLFP has organized two processions, one coming from Kandy through Colombo and Ratgama and the other via Ratnapura through Matara and Akuressa.

The UNP May Day procession will start at 11.00 am and wind its way to the venue with the participation of party supporters from across the country.

Political parties were busy yesterday putting up banners, cut-outs, posters and floats for the May Day celebrations.

The Joint Opposition rally, with Rajapaksa in attendance, will start its procession from Narahenpita and make its way to the main venue at Kirulapone junction.

Among the 17 parties participating in the rally will be the New Democratic Party, the National Freedom Front, Piwithuru Hela Urumaya, Lanka Sama Samaja Party and the Communist Party.

The Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) will start its procession from the S. de S. Jayasinghe Grounds in Dehiwala at noon and reach the BRC Grounds venue at Havelock Road, Colombo, around 4 pm.

The JVP’s theme this year will be ‘workers’ empowerment and the securing of labor rights’. Many foreign delegates are also expected to join hands with JVP-affiliated trade unions, including those representing teachers, railway workers, electricity board employees and farmers.

The Illankai Thamil Arasu Kachchi (TNA) will hold its rally in Kilinochchi and a separate meeting in Maradanamadam in Jaffna. All affiliated parties will take part.

The Ceylon Workers Congress (CWC) has organized its rally in Nuwara Eliya while the Upcountry People’s Front, Democratic Front and the Democratic National Union of Workers will hold their rally in Talawakele.

Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka’s Democratic Party will hold its rally at the Buddhadasa playground at Battaramulla, with the procession starting from Rajagiriya.

The Ceylon Mercantile Union (CMU) rally will be held at Hyde Park Corner with two processions starting from D. R. Wijewardene Mawatha and Kollupitiya.

The Ceylon Bank Employees’ Union, Free Trade Zone workers and General Workers Union will join the rally, with 15 other independent unions.

Rallies at a glance

UNP – Campbell Park

SLFP – Samanala Grounds, Galle

JVP – BRC Grounds

Joint Opposition - Kirulapone

DP - Buddadasa Ground, Pelawatta

CMU – Hyde Park

TNA – Kilinochchi and Maradanamadam, Jaffna.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...