60 death row prisoners’ sentence commuted to life imprisonment

President Maithripala Sirisena recently commuted the sentence of 60 prisoners on death row to life imprisonment after Justice Minister Wijayadasa Rajapakshe submitted to the Head of State, the recommendations of the specialist committee headed by Retired Supreme Court Judge Nimal E. Dissanayake.

The President’s decision will be implemented on the 69th Independence Day on February 4 and Commissioner General of Prisons had been informed about it.

The other members of the Committee headed by the retired Supreme Court Justice consisted of Additional Solicitor General Wasantha N. Bandara, Professor Siri Hettige, of the Faculty of Social Sciences, Colombo University, Specialist Psychologist Neil Fernando, Senior Lecturer in Criminology at the Sri Jayewardenapura University Udaya Kumara Amarasinghe, Prisons Commissioner H.M.N.C. Dhanasinghe and former Commissioner General of Prisons H.G. Dharmadasa.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...