Trinity’s Ron Chandraguptha closing in on Test debut?


by Rex Clementine

Excellent performance in domestic cricket this season has earned Ron Chandraguptha a place in Sri Lanka ‘A’ team for the bilateral series against England ‘A’.

In the ongoing three day warm-up game for Board President’s XI against England ‘A’, Chandraguptha notched up scores of 48 and 91.

A couple of impressive scores in the unofficial Test series against England ‘A’ that starts on Friday is all what it requires for the 21-year-old former Trinity College captain to make his Test debut against Bangladesh next month.

Chandraguptha, a left-handed opening batsman, who represents CCC has been prolific this season. He has amassed over 800 runs in the season at an average of 60.

Altogether, he has four hundreds and two 50s this season in 14 innings. He made 157 against Tamil Union, a fortnight ago, his career best score.

Given the struggles of Test openers Kaushal Silva and Dimuth Karunaratne in recent months, there will be at least one opening slot up for grabs next month and Chandraguptha is a firm favourite to make his Test debut. He impressed the selectors yesterday with a fine 91 at Moratuwa for Board President’s XI against England ‘A’.

Struggling Test opener Karunaratne also has been named in Sri Lanka ‘A’ squad.

Known for his hard work, Chandraguptha is a busy batsman at the crease possessing excellent footwork. He is very organized with his game and plays both spin and pace well.

He is also a fine fielder. The ambidextrous Chandraguptha throws right arm, but bowls left-arm Chinaman.

Chandraguptha studied initially at Berrewaerts College, Ampitiya and won a scholarship for Trinity for his studies after passing the Grade Four exam at Trinity.

Chandraguptha went onto captain Trinity in 2012.

He is a product of former Trinity coach Sampath Perera and if Chandraguptha were to make his Test debut against Bangladesh, Perera will have three of his charges playing in the same Test match with Trinity’s Niroshan Dickwella and Lahiru Kumara being the others.

Sri Lanka ‘A’ Squad:

Dananjaya de Silva (Captain), Dimuth Karunaratne, Udara Jayasundara, Sandun Weerakkody (Wicketkeeper), Charith Asalanka, Roshen Silva, Lahiru Gamage, Kasun Rajitha, Ron Chandraguptha, Kasun Madusanka, Asitha Fernando, Dilruwan Perera, Amila Aponsu, Jeffrey Vandersay and Malinda Pushpakumara.


animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...