Galle: 13 Ind. groups in LG fray

by Lalith Chamindra and Lalith Kaluarachchi

The Galle District Divisional Secretariat yesterday received deposits from 13 Independent Groups contesting the forthcoming Local Government elections.

Two Independent Groups each will contest the Nagoda, Bentota and Baddegama Pradeshiya Sabhas.

The remaining Independent Groups will contest Ratgama, Yakkalamulla, Ambalangoda, Elpitiya, Welivitiya, Divithura, Bope-Poddala and Neluwa.

A spokesman for the Galle Secretariat said that major political parties would hand over their nominations on Jan. 27.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...