Milinda, Sadeepa bag two titles, Ratnayake Central dominate


Ratnayake Central made a clean sweep in the Under-18 girls’ 1,500 metres as Jayanthi Kanagaratne (333), Chamini Herath (332) and Pabasara de Soysa (334) won the first, second and third places. (Pix by Nishan S. Priyantha)

Ravishka Indrajith of St. Benedict’s College, Kotahena edged out Harsha Karunaratne of Ratnayake Central to win the Under-18 boys’ 400 metres.

C. Herina of Mahajana College, Jaffna won the Under-18 girls high jump.

By Reemus Fernando

Maris Stella College’s Chanuka Sandeepa emerged the fastest schools athlete, Sadeepa Henderson and Milinda Perera bagged two titles each, Harsha Karunaratne missed a second title by hundredths of a second as Ratnayake Central took the lead in the race for the girls’ and boys’ senior titles on day two of the All Island Schools Games Athletics Championship at Diyagama on Thursday.

It was business as usual for Ratnayake Central, Walala who dominated girls’ and boys’ middle and long distance events as they aggregated 54 points to lead the points table in the girls’ category. Gateway College, Rajagiriya (39) and Sumana Balika, Ratnapura (25) were in the second and third places.

Ratnayake Central made a clean sweep in the Under-18 girls’ 1500 metres as Jayanthi Kanagaratne (4:46.94 secs), Chamini Herath (4:46.97 secs) and Pabasara de Soysa (4:50.74 secs) shared the three podium places. They also won the first and second places in the Under-20 girls 1,500 metres with Iresha Basnayake (4:53.41 secs) and Madushika Weerasekara (4:57.52 secs) dominating the race from the word go.

Sasindu Sankalpa of Makandura MV prevented Ratnayake Central performing a clean sweep in the Under-18 boys’ 1,500 metres as he finished second behind Ratnayake Central’s Asian youth Games medalist Harsha Karunaratne who clocked 4:10.57 seconds. Karunaratne’s team-mate Pradeep Kumara finished third. Karunaratne who competed in the 400 metres final, minutes later, was placed second behind St. Benedict’s Ravishka Indrajith.

Gateway’s second-place finish in the girls’ category on day two was thanks largely to the impressive performance of Henderson who added the Under-16 girls 100 metres title to her long jump first place on day one. She clocked 12.67 seconds to win. She is a strong favourite for today’s 200 metres title as well.

Sandeepa of Maris Stella clocked 10.89 seconds to win the Under-20 boys’ 100 metres as three others, namely A.S.M. Safan (Anbukkagama MV – Nikaweratiya, 10.96 secs), L.K.S. Perera (Nalanda – Colombo, 10.97 secs) and G.K. Darshana Navodya (Rahula V. – Matara, 10.99 secs) produced sub 11 seconds performances. Maris Stella who were trailing in the third place behind Ratnayake Central (37) and St. Mary’s, Chilaw had another impressive performer in Pramod Madubasha who cleared 7.09 metres to win the Under-18 long jump.

Milinda Perera’s sprint double helped St. Mary’s settle in the second place behind Ratnayake Central in the boys’ senior category. Perera won the Under-16 boys 100 (11.31 secs) and 400 metres (50.15 secs).

Chamod Yodasinghe (St. Mary’s, Kegalle U18 boys’ 100m - 10.90 secs), Ewanthi Emeshika (of St. Mary’s, Matara U18 Girls 100m) and Amasha de Silva (U20 girls 100 - Swarnamali Balika, Kandy - 12.14 secs) won the 100 metres sprints events in the morning.

In a rare performance for a Northerner C. Herina of Mahajana College, Jaffna won the Under-18 girls high jump with a feat of 1.58 metres.

In the Under-16 girls’ 400 metres Kavindi Sanjana Edirisinghe of President’s Girls College, Rajagiriya clocked 58.67 seconds to win.

Tharaka Divyanjali of Lyceum International clocked 56.96 seconds to win the Under-18 100 metres.

Aruna Dharshana of Weerakeppetipola MV, Akuramboda produced a sub 48 seconds feat to win the Under-20 boys’ 400 metres.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...