Dickwella in for IPL auction



by S. Venkat Narayan

As many as 1,122 players have registered themselves to go under the hammer at the upcoming player auction later this month for The Indian Premier League (IPL) tournament.

Lasith Malinga will lead Sri Lanka’s entourage that includes ODI captain Angelo Mathews, the exciting Niroshan Dickwella and all-rounder Thisara Perera.

This is the largest number ever in the 11-year history of the richest and the world’s most popular T20 League, owned by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

The mega IPL auction is scheduled to take place in Bangalore on January 27-28. England’s Test captain Joe Root is the latest to throw his hat into the ring.

The list that has been sent out to the eight IPL franchises has 281 capped players, and 838 uncapped players, including 778 Indians and three players from the Associate nations.

A fierce bidding war is expected to break out when Indian stars Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, off spinners R Ashwin and Harbhajan Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, mystery spinner Kuldeep Yadav and openers KL Rahul and M Vijay go under the hammer.

The franchises will leave no stone unturned when Chris Gayle, Ben Stokes, Chris Lynn, Eoin Morgan and pacers Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins come up for IPL Player Auction 2018.

Dwayne Bravo, Carlos Brathwaite, Evin Lewis and Jason Holder will add the Caribbean flavor to the league.

Showing his full range of strokes will be Glenn Maxwell, all-rounder Shane Watson and Mitchell Johnson, who bowled Mumbai Indians to their third title last season with his final over heroics.

Hashim Amla, who hit two centuries for Kings XI Punjab in the 10th season will be hoping for a high bid with compatriots Faf du Plessis, Quinton de Kock, David Miller and speedsters Morne Morkel and Kagiso Rabada.

Kane Williamson, Colin Munro and Tom Latham from New Zealand will add their charm to the league.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...