PM sworn is as law and order minister in low key reshuffle

Six Cabinet ministers, three state ministers and one deputy minister were sworn in before the President yesterday at the Presidential Secretariat in the long awaited Cabinet reshuffle.

Although there were expectations that there would be drastic changes in the Cabinet, during the reshuffle after a disastrous local council election for the government, the only major change was Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe being sworn in as the Minister of Law and Order, in addition to his current portfolios.

The other appointed Cabinet Ministers are Lakshman Kiriella (Public Enterprises and Kandy Development), Kabir Hashim (Higher Education and Highways),Sagala Ratnayake (Youth Affairs and Southern Development), Harin Fernando (Digital Infrastructure and Foreign Employment) and Ravindra Samaraweera (Minister of Wildlife and Sustainable Development).

Meanwhile, Piyasena Gamage, the only UPFA MP, was appointed State Minister of Youth Affairs and Southern Development. Ajith P Perera was sworn in as State Minister of Prison Reforms, Rehabilitation and Drug Prevention and Harsha de Silva as State Minister of National Policies and Economic Affairs. J. C. Alawathuwala was sworn in as the Deputy Minister of Home Affairs.

Maithripala Sirisena said that the future plans of the government would implemented successfully for the betterment of the public while effecting necessary changes, taking into the consideration the message the people had given to the government.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...