UNP Politburo to discuss electing office-bearers, party reforms

By Zacki Jabbar 

The election of new UNP  office-bearers and proposed amendments to the Constitution are scheduled to be taken up for discussion when the party’s recently  elected Politburo meets on Thursday. 

Nalin Bandara MP, who was a member of  the Politburo elected through a secret vote taken among the Working Committee (WC) and Parliamentary Group Members (PG) on April 7, said yesterday that the Politburo would, at this week’s meeting, strive to reach an agreement on the names proposed for the positions that would fall vacant on April 30 and constitutional amendments, needed to give legal effect to the creation of the Politburo, which comprises 12 elected and three ex-officio members. 

Bandara said the term of all current office-bearers would expire at the end of this month,  in accordance with a decision taken at the  joint meeting  of  the WC and the PG, except the party  leader, who according to the UNP constitution  would hold that position, by virtue of being the President or the Prime Minister or the Leader of the Opposition.  

Asked if a vote would be taken to elect  the Deputy Leader and Assistant Leader, Bandara replied in the negative, adding that  the general consensus was that the current holders of both posts, should continue in office. "The other positions will be decided on through a ballot, if the Politburo is unable to mutually agree on the names proposed by our members."   

Once the new office bearers were elected by vote or concurrence as the case might be, the names would be submitted to the WC for ratification, Bandara said. 

Chairman Malik Samarawickrema, General Secretary Kabir Hashim and Treasurer Eran Wickremeratne resigned from their positions recently, to facilitate the proposed party reforms, which would include the selection of a new National Organiser as well. 

The elected members of the Politburo, which is a first for the UNP, are Navin Dissanayake, Ajith P. Perera, Harin Fernando, Akila Viraj Kariyawasam, Eran Wickremeratne, Ruwan Wijewardene, Mangala Samaraweera, Ranjith Madduma Bandara, Gayantha Karunathilaka, Nalin Bandara, Asoka Priyantha and J.C. Alawathuwala.Leader of the UNP Ranil Wickremesinghe , Deputy Leader Sajith Premadasa and Assistant Leader Ravi Karunanayake, serve as ex-officio members.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...