Unfancied Galle close in on Inter-Provincial title


Rookie off-spinner Nishan Peiris celebrates the dismissal of Jeewan Mendis in the Inter-Provincial First Class match between Galle and Kandy yesterday. Peiris picked up six wickets to bowl out Kandy for 185 runs.

Table leaders Galle are on the brink of winning the Inter-Provincial title after a splendid performance in the last round of the tournament at Suriyawewa yesterday. Galle posted 425 all out in their first innings and bowled out a strong Kandy side for 185 runs to gain a first innings lead of 240 runs.

Galle entered the final round leading the points table with 24 points and are set for an outright win.

Troubled by injuries, Galle were without their captain Suranga Lakmal for the entire competition and were led by all-rounder Dasun Shanaka.

Resuming with the overnight score of 344 for seven, Galle finished on 425. Overnight batsman Roshen Silva, who resumed on exactly 100, was last man dismissed for a brilliant 168. The prolific middle order batsman batted with the tail and contributed for 68 of the 81 runs scored yesterday morning by his side. It was Roshen’s second hundred in the competition. Earlier, he had posted a career best 231 in the first game of the tournament against Colombo.

Kandy were in trouble as 20-year-old off-spinner Nishan Peiris picked up six wickets. Among his victims were Sri Lanka’s white ball captain Angelo Mathews, who was making a comeback after a long lay off due to injuries. Mathews managed only five runs. Niroshan Dickwella top scored for Kandy with 39 runs.

At Dambulla, meanwhile, Colombo were 37 for no loss having conceded a first innings lead of 149 runs to the hosts. Colombo still trail by 112 runs.

In reply to Colombo’s total of 210 all out, Dambulla posted 359 all out thanks to wicketkeeper batsman Manoj Sarathchandra’s century. The 25-year-old former St. Anthony’s Katugastota player, faced 183 deliveries and hit 11 fours. He was well backed up by Kusal Janith Perera, who posted 85 off 91 balls with 11 fours and a six. They added 91 runs for the fifth wicket after Dambulla were 88 for four. Leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay, who had failed to pick up a wicket in Colombo’s first innings, contributed with 40 runs.

Brief Scores:

Galle versus Kandy

Galle 425 all out in 120.3 overs (Madawa Warnapura 66, Sadeera Samarawickrama 40, Roshen Silva 168, Dasun Shanaka 90, Prabath Jayasuriya 4/116, Charith Asalanka 3/31, Lahiru Samarakoon 2/87) and 1 for no loss in five overs

Kandy 185 all out in 41.2 overs (Mahela Udawatta 27, Niroshan Dickwella 39, Isuru Udana 35, Nishan Peiris 6/67, Nisala Tharaka 2/47, Chaturanga de Silva 2/29)

Colombo versus Dambulla

Colombo 210 all out in 64.2 overs (Shehan Jayasuriya 23, Wanindu Hasaranga 52, Lasith Abeyratne 85, Lahiru Madushanka 5/43, Asitha Fernando 2/46) and 37 for no loss in 7.5 overs (Shehan Jayasuriya 24*, Kaushal Silva 9 *)

Dambulla 359 all out in 84.2 overs (Kusal Perera 85, Manoj Sarathchandra 103, Jeffrey Vandersay 40, Dilesh Gunaratne 4/68, Thikshila de Silva 2/57, Shehan Jayasuriya 2/30, Lakshan Sandakan 2/77)


animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...