Dambulla eye outright win, but Galle set for Championship


Dambulla are eying an outright win over Colombo in the ongoing Inter-Provincial tournament, but that will not prevent Galle from clinching the title after another dominating performance despite bad light ending play early in their fixture against Kandy at Suriyawewa yesterday.

Roshen Silva was once again the star for Galle as he guided his team to 298 for seven with an unbeaten 88. Roshen, the prolific right-handed middle order batsman, had slammed 168 in Galle’ s first innings propelling them to total of 425 all out.

Prior to Roshen’s heroics, Upul Tharnaga hit 103 runs in Galle’s second innings and shared a 99 run stand for the fourth wicket with Roshen.

The former St. Joseph’s cricketer has been in superb form in the tournament having amassed over 534 runs in five innings. He averages a stunning 267.

Galle lead by 538 runs and could declare the innings early on the final day today to put pressure on Kandy, who were bowled out for 185 runs in their first essay.

Meanwhile Dambulla require a further 160 runs with all their wickets intact on the final day to win their fixture against Colombo at the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium.

Having conceded a first innings lead of 149 runs, Colombo resumed their second innings on 37 for no loss and went onto post 351 runs all out.

The openers Shehan Jayasuriya and Kaushal Silva did well to post 112 runs for the first wicket, but much more was needed from Colombo’s top order to save the game. Apart from Jayasuriya (77), Lahiru Thirimanne (52) and Wanindu Hasaranga (52) posted half-centuries.

Leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay, who failed to pick up a wicket in the first innings accounted for four wickets that included both openers and captain Dinesh Chandimal (44).

Set a target of 203 runs, Dambulla were 43 for no loss at stumps.

Brief Scores:

Galle versus Kandy

Galle 425 all out in 120.3 overs (Madawa Warnapura 66, Sadeera Samarawickrama 40, Roshen Silva 168, Dasun Shanaka 90, Prabath Jayasuriya 4/116, Charith Asalanka 3/31, Lahiru Samarakoon 2/87) and 298 for seven in 72 overs (Upul Tharanga 103, Roshen Silva 88*, Chamika Karunaratne 3/61, Lahiru Samarakoon 2/56)

Kandy 185 all out in 41.2 overs (Mahela Udawatta 27, Niroshan Dickwella 39, Isuru Udana 35, Nishan Peiris 6/67, Nisala Tharaka 2/47, Chaturanga de Silva 2/29)

Colombo versus Dambulla

Colombo 210 all out in 64.2 overs (Shehan Jayasuriya 23, Wanindu Hasaranga 52, Lasith Abeyratne 85, Lahiru Madushanka 5/43, Asitha Fernando 2/46) and 351 all out in 80.1 overs (Shehan Jayasuriya 77, Kaushal Silva 38, Lahiru Thirimanne 52, Dinesh Chandimal 44, Wanindu Hasaranga 52,Jeffrey Vandersay 4/101, Sachithra Senanayake 2/78)

Dambulla 359 all out in 84.2 overs (Kusal Perera 85, Manoj Sarathchandra 103, Jeffrey Vandersay 40, Dilesh Gunaratne 4/68, Thikshila de Silva 2/57, Shehan Jayasuriya 2/30, Lakshan Sandakan 2/77) and 43 for no loss in ten overs.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...